Document Actions

You are here: Home Service University Networks

University Networks

This page provides news and current information about national and international networks in which the University of Freiburg is a member.


LERU - League of European Research Universities

The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is a network of universities with a focus on research. With policy papers, statements, meetings and events, they develop and disseminate their views on research, innovation and higher education, and contribute to shaping policy at the European Union (EU) level. The League is the point of contact for European institutions and other political actors. It acts as the voice of European research universities on a wide range of issues related to EU policies and initiatives.


U15 - German U15 e.V.

The German U15 is the strategic representation of interests and communication platform of leading medical universities with a strong emphasis on research. They define common goals and develop strategies. Within the "Think Tank U15" they function as a network of experts and thus provide ideas and impetus for university and research policy. They inform the public about the importance of major research universities to society.


LRK - Landesrektorenkonferenz Baden-Württemberg

The Landesrektorenkonferenz (State Rectors’ Conference) supports its member universities in fulfilling their tasks in research and teaching. To this end, it represents the interests of higher education institutions in the fields of education and academia, both in higher education policy and in the public domain. It prepares joint statements on university and academic policy issues. The Landesrektorenkonferenz keeps its members informed about developments in higher education policy, and it highlights common problems and objectives in the public sphere and in the political decision-making process. The Rectors and Presidents draw up statements and recommendations at their universities and use them to prepare joint decisions and resolutions.


EUCOR -  The European Campus

Eucor – The European Campus is a tri-national alliance between five universities in the Upper Rhine region at the heart of Europe. Its members include the Universities of Basel, Freiburg, Haute-Alsace, Strasbourg and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Together, their 15,000 researchers, 11,000 doctoral researchers and 115,000 students form a strong research and economic region straddling France, Germany and Switzerland. The goal is to create a clearly-defined academic region without borders and with international effect. This alliance of higher education institutions is on its way to becoming a European University: The foundations have been laid in joint management, structures, and strategy in research and teaching.

  eucor logo gb


The academic consortium for the 21st century (AC21) is an international network of education, research and industry organizations. It brings together the presidents and delegations of 24 of the world’s leading teaching and research institutions in one global higher education partnership. The vision for AC21 is cooperation between members in the fields of education and research, connecting societies around the world, and communicating knowledge and values for better quality of life. AC21 places mutual understanding and the promotion of peaceful coexistence ahead of national and regional boundaries in the 21st century.